School Logo

Muriel Green Nursery School

For all your education and day care needs for under 5's


Developing curious children who are prepared for lifelong learning

At Muriel Green no year is the same. We carefully develop the curriculum so that it meets the needs of our current children ensuring they have opportunities to learn, practice and consolidate skills that are pivotal in later life. To support the sequence of the curriculum we observe the children in their play, identify their fascinations, strengths and areas for development then plan experiences and opportunities that will excite, interest and challenge them! The curriculum at Muriel Green has clear intention and embeds a number of pedagogical approaches including:

  • Talk for Writing
  • Zones of Regulation
  • Curiosity Approach
  • Floppy Phonics
  • Bucket Time

We deliver a curriculum that prepares children for life long learning ensuring to meet the statutory requirements of the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum. The seven areas of learning are the base to our curriculum but we provide real life opportunities and resources that will allow our children the opportunity to consolidate learning at home, outdoors and at Muriel Green. 


Curriculum Intent at Muriel Green

‘Developing Curious Learners prepared for Lifelong Learning'

What we want this cohort of children to leave with

What we will put in place to achieve this

The confidence to express their ideas in a conversation that includes social pleasantries

  • Communicating effectively with adults and peers
  • Listen attentively in a range of situations
  • Able to articulate their ideas and interests
  • Take account of others needs and ideas
  • Utilise past and present tense
  • High quality ‘Attention Autism’ sessions
  • Open ended resources that promote opportunities for sustained shared thinking
  • Adults who create time to respond
  • Adults who plan explicitly for enriching vocabulary throughout the day
  • A provision that is based upon individualised interest led vocabulary progression
  • Staff will articulate the reasons for rules

A secure knowledge of how stories are structured and the ability to represent their stories with marks

  • Recall at least 5 familiar stories
  • Able to retell a story using a story map
  • Innovate stories that are familiar to them
  • Use books for a purpose
  • Recognise books can be used as a source of information
  • High quality books, complimented with book of the week displays available throughout provision
  • Quality planned story telling sessions that are sequenced based upon Talk for Writing principles
  • Adults who are excited by books and seek them for extending knowledge and story telling
  • Adults deliver pitch appropriate phonics sessions
  • Adults to maximise opportunities for modelling and teaching mark making and letter formation

An understanding of their place within their local community and recognise features of the wider world

  • Able to identify features of their outdoor environment (for example plants/birds)
  • Recognise their local community
  • Talk about the process of growing
  • Understand people, culture and communities beyond Muriel Green
  • An outdoor area designed to excite and stimulate children providing opportunities for enquiry based learning.
  • Weekly adventures to explore beyond the Nursery outdoor area
  • Opportunities to research and explore religions, cultures and festivals
  • Opportunities to recognise the process of life cycles by live examples
  • Adults who have a knowledge of key past events and share this children during play

An understanding of their emotions and how to respond to them appropriately

  • To recognise the different feelings they will experience
  • To be able to articulate their emotion and identify strategies to allow them to manage their feeling and emotion
  • Able to utilise a range of mindfulness strategies to self-regulate throughout the day


  • Resources that allow children to express their feelings through Zones of Regulation
  • Adults that allow children to solve their own problems and conflicts
  • Opportunities for children to identify emotions and how they make them feel
  • Resources that demonstrate a range of emotions and feeling
  • Staff who seize opportunities to enrich emotional literacy
  • Provide children with communication, either verbal or gesture, that will support conflict resolution

The confidence and ability to manipulate a range of materials to express their ideas and interests

  • Select and use a range of resources
  • Demonstrate care for their environment
  • Express their fascinations and follow their own investigation




  • Provide an environment with open ended, real life resources to meet a range of needs
  • Provide children with the freedom to explore resources and transport them to support their learning.
  • Have high expectations of the care of resources-including returning to original place
  • Plan sessions and experiences that teach the skills required to manipulate materials

An understanding of number that they can apply in a range of contexts

  • Recognise, count and represent numbers to 10
  • Identify one more and one less of numbers to 10
  • Add 2 single digit numbers 0-5 (by putting two groups together)
  • High quality planned sequential maths teaching
  • Resources that represent the interests and ideas of the children and the natural world
  • An identified sequence of learning that recognises the learning pace of individuals
  • Staff to maximise opportunities for making number real.


We know that ….

So we plan / provide…

As a result / the impact has been…

Yoga with Hannah.mp4

Still image for this video

Special Educational Needs and Disabilities (SEND)


Muriel Green Nursery School welcomes all children and parents are encouraged to inform the school of any SENDs as soon as possible. Parents are welcome to visit the school to see the facilities and share their concerns with the Headteacher or Special Educational Needs Co-ordinator (SENCO).